Presentation of Faculty Awards at FHSU Fall Convocation

Dr. CD Clark, Dr. Jeanne Sumrall, Dr. April Terry

University Communication FHSU

The Faculty Member of the Year award went to Dr. CD Clark, Associate Professor of Physics. The Commerce Bank provided a $1,000 stipend to Dr. Clark in recognition of this honor. Dr. Clark has provided exemplary service to the department, college, and university by serving on the Academic Promotion, General Education, and Commencement Committees. He researched, developed, and shared techniques to effectively deliver a high-quality educational experience to online learners at FHSU.

The Faculty Member of the Year is chosen from the previous year’s recipients of the Faculty Awards for Teaching, Research and Scholarly Activity, and Service.

The 2021-2022 Awards for Scientific Activity were awarded to Dr. Gordon Carlson, Associate Professor of Computer Science, and Dr. Daniel McClure, Assistant Professor of History. Distinguished Service Awards were presented to Dr. Donnette Noble, Omer G. Voss, Distinguished Associate Professor of Leadership Studies and Director of Civic Learning and Engagement, and Dr. CD Clark, Associate Professor at the physics department. In the area of ​​Outstanding Teaching, Ms. Linda McHenry, English Instructor, and Dr. Brooke Moore, Associate Professor of Higher Education Programs, were recognized.

John Heinrichs Outstanding Research Mentor

Dr. Jeanne Sumrall, Instructor, Department of Geosciences and KAMS, has been named the John Heinrichs Outstanding Research Mentor. The award is named after our esteemed former colleague, Dr. John Heinrichs, who was active in all areas of research.

This award recognizes faculty members for their commitment, time and energy in promoting undergraduate research. All current professors and unclassified staff at comparable levels to faculty are eligible. The recipient’s home department receives budgetary funding of $500 for the benefit of the recipient.

Dr. Sumrall has shown exceptional support to her students by mentoring them through the undergraduate research process. His commitment to the growth and learning of his students is evidenced by their letters of support for his nomination. One student wrote, “Not only does Dr. Sumrall care deeply about promoting undergraduate endeavors for her students, but she also continues her commitment to us and fosters an abiding love of research. The commitment, time, and energy that Dr. Sumrall put into this has changed not only my life, but the lives of countless others.

President’s Distinguished Scholar Award

Dr. April Terry, an associate professor of criminal justice, has been announced as the 2022 President’s Distinguished Scholar.

Dr. Terry’s research focuses on gender and crime, juvenile corrections, gender-based violence and rural criminology. She has published two book chapters, 20 peer-reviewed journal articles, five technical reports, and various other types of publications. Dr. Terry’s curriculum vitae includes 48 presentations for undergraduate and graduate students. She sits on numerous department and college committees as well as a variety of community projects and initiatives.

Dr. Terry will receive a check for $1,500 through the President’s Distinguished Scholar program later in the academic year.

The President’s Distinguished Scholar Award was first presented in 1989. The evaluation of each candidate for this honor is based on an analysis of their performance in the categories of research and creation activities, service and d ‘education. Acceptable levels of performance must be demonstrated in service and teaching, with the main focus of this award being research and creative activities.

About Edward Fries

Check Also

Business People: Hiring and Rewards in the Fort Wayne Area | Company

Cason Amornarthakij joined Do it Best as a Category Management Planner; David Badinasenior system administrator; …