NC Home Race Results

Two incumbents, a former lawmaker and two newcomers won the state House of Representatives races in Tuesday’s primary elections, according to unofficial results.

Rep. Marvin Lucas, who has represented District 42 since 2001, defeated Dr. Naveed Aziz, a Spring Lake physician, in the Democratic primary for the seat.

Lucas received 2,650 votes, or 55.78%. Aziz obtained 2,101 votes, or 44.22%.

Lucas will face Republican Gloria Carrasco in the November general election.

House District 42 covers Spring Lake, Fort Bragg and part of Fayetteville.

Related:NC House District 42 preview: Lucas to face Spring Lake doctor in Democratic primary

Rep.  Diane Wheatley

Rep. Diane Wheatley won a close race in the Republican primary for District 43. She got 2,293 votes, or 51.34%, to defeat Clarence Goins Jr., who got 2,173 votes, or 48.66% .

Wheatley will face a former lawmaker in November. Elmer Floyd, who represented District 43 for six terms, won nearly 60% of the vote in the Democratic primary.

Elmer Floyd

Floyd received 3,577 votes to easily outrun Kimberly Hardy, who received 2,144 votes, or 35.96%. Prince Christian obtained 242 votes, or 4.06%.

House District 43 includes the area of ​​Cumberland County east of the Cape Fear River, the Linden area, and parts of south, central, and east Fayetteville.

Previous cover:US House District 7: Congressional race in southeastern North Carolina has a tilt in Wilmington

Charles Smith

Charles Smith, a former Cumberland County assistant district attorney, easily won the House District 44 Democratic primary. He faces no opposition in November.

Smith, who now works at the Charleston Firm in contract law, got 3,632 votes, or 61.74%, to beat Terry Johnson, who got 2,251 votes, or 38.26%.

House District 44 covers areas of Fayetteville west of US 401 and south of NC 295, including the Bonnie Doone and Haymount neighborhoods and Evergreen Estates. The district also includes areas near Morganton, Skibo and Murchison Roads and part of Country Club Drive.

Frances Jackson

Frances Jackson, adjunct professor at Fayetteville Technical Community College, won the Democratic primary in House District 45. She will face Susan Chapman, a Republican, in the general election.

Jackson received 2,208 votes, or 52.35%. Fayetteville Councilman Chris Davis was second with 1,737 votes, or 41.18%. Keith Byrd obtained 273 votes, or 6.47%.

Jackson, a Fayetteville native who now lives in Hope Mills, previously worked as a transportation and community planner with the Cumberland County Planning Department and as a transportation manager in Hoke County.

House District 45 covers Hope Mills and the Gray’s Creek area.

Previous:Here are the 5 candidates vying for the Cumberland County District 43 House seat

Local News Editor Steve DeVane can be reached at [email protected]

About Edward Fries

Check Also

Business People: Hiring and Rewards in the Fort Wayne Area | Company

Cason Amornarthakij joined Do it Best as a Category Management Planner; David Badinasenior system administrator; …